Skip to main content

Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique

View Tickets Browse Concerts

& Performers

Rafael Payare


Alisa Weilerstein



(San Francisco Symphony Premiere)


Cello Concerto No. 1


Symphony No. 6, Pathétique

All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, Nov 20, 2020 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, Nov 21, 2020 at 8:00PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, Nov 22, 2020 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Rafael Payare's appearance is generously supported by the Shenon Young Artist Fund and by the  Louise M. Davies Guest Conductor Fund.

Event Description

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation, we have made the difficult decision to cancel all San Francisco Symphony concerts through December 31, 2020. We look forward to returning stronger and more vibrant than ever and sharing live music with you again soon.

For questions or assistance, please contact the Box Office by phone 415.864.6000 or email

Venezuelan conductor Rafael Payare makes his San Francisco Symphony debut in a program featuring cellist and MacArthur “genius grant” recipient Alisa Weilerstein in one of Shostakovich’s most treasured works, the explosive Cello Concerto No. 1. Dedicated to the composer’s close friend—the late, great cello icon Mstislav Rostropovich—the concerto opens with four unforgettable, decisive notes that propel the entire piece forward. It is said that Rostropovich was so thrilled with the composition that he could play it from memory after only four days.The program closes with Tchaikovsky’s Sixth Symphony, nicknamed Pathétique to describe the turmoil and passion evoked by such lush orchestral writing.

Rafael Payare
Rafael Payare