View Tickets Browse Concerts


Gustavo Gimeno


San Francisco Symphony


Funeral March from The Great Citizen, Opus 55
[First San Francisco Symphony Performances]
Dmitri Shostakovich
Viola Concerto
William Walton

Symphony No. 3

Sergei Prokofiev
All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Davies Symphony Hall

Thu, Apr 25, 2024 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, Apr 26, 2024 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sat, Apr 27, 2024 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

For Shostakovich, Walton, and Prokofiev, cinematic assignments often found their way into their concert music—and vice versa. Drama abounds in Shostakovich's score for The Great Citizen, a fictionalized biopic about a Bolshevik hero. In his Third Symphony, Prokofiev recycles music from his yet-to-be-staged opera The Fiery Angel, a love story that traffics in demonic possession. Walton's searing and sumptuous Viola Concerto polarized early listeners but ended up launching his career.

Open rehearsals are endowed by a bequest from The Estate of Katharine Hanrahan.

Please wait...