View Tickets Browse Concerts


Marta Gardolińska


Pablo Ferrández


San Francisco Symphony


Grażyna Bacewicz

Cello Concerto

Edward Elgar

Symphony No. 3, Scottish

Felix Mendelssohn
All sound clips are from San Francisco Symphony performances and are used with permission of the SFS Players Committee.


Davies Symphony Hall

Fri, May 10, 2024 at 7:30PM

Buy Now

Davies Symphony Hall

Sun, May 12, 2024 at 2:00PM

Buy Now

If you would like assistance purchasing tickets for patrons with disabilities, please call the box office at 415-864-6000.

Event Description

Debuting conductor Marta Gardolińska leads the San Francisco Symphony in Felix Mendelssohn's evocative travelogue, inspired by a visit to the ruins of Holyrood Chapel in Edinburgh. Grażyna Bacewic wrote her Overture in 1943, during the German occupation of her native Poland. The premiere was delayed until her homeland was liberated from the Nazis two years later. Written in the aftermath of World War I, Edward Elgar’s Cello Concerto is an urgent elegy, a late-life affirmation of Englishness.

These concerts are supported in part by the Barbara Brookins Young Artist Fund.

Please wait...