SFS Media Presents

Mason Bates: Works for Orchestra

A premiere album recording from the Grammy-winning Michael Tilson Thomas and San Francisco Symphony.  

“This is new music as you always hoped it would be—exciting, beautiful, surprising, and full of a vivid sense of discovery.”


Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony release an exhilarating album of composer Mason Bates’s large-scale works for orchestra and electronica. Hear the first-ever recordings of his colossal Liquid Interface and the SFS-commissioned The B-Sides alongside Bates’s supercharged work, Alternative Energy. One of the most creative and ingenious synthesists of our time, these works show Bates reimagining the dimensions of symphonic music by integrating jazz, techno, drum-n-bass, field recordings of a FermiLab particle collider—and more.

2017 Grammy Nominee for Best Orchestral Performance


San Francisco Symphony
Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor
Mason Bates, electronica

The B-Sides

1. Broom of the System
2. Aerosol Melody (Hanalei)
3. Gemini in the Solar Winds
4. Temescal Noir
5. Warehouse Medicine

Liquid Interface

6. Glaciers Calving
7. Scherzo Liquido
8. Crescent City
9. On the Wannsee

Alternative Energy

10. Ford’s Farm, 1896
11. Chicago, 2012
12. Xinjiang Province, 2112
13. Reykjavik, 2222

Total Playing Time: 01:11:14

More from SFS Media

Please wait...